Hildegard of Bingen

Hildegard von Bingen is considered one of the most important women of the Middle Ages and the first representative of German mysticism. Hildegard von Bingen's works cover a broad thematic repertoire from religion and medicine to music, ethics and cosmology.

Hildegard von Bingen was a Benedictine nun, abbess, poet, composer and also an important polymath. In addition, she was perhaps one of the first coaches, as very well preserved written documents and correspondence prove that she advised many personalities of her time. Among other things, it is remarkable that Hildegard von Bingen sometimes spoke very clear and admonishing words to high-ranking contemporaries. She also devoted herself to pastoral care and public preaching.

The extensive work of the Hunsrück-born woman is still recognised worldwide today and is the basis of countless articles, studies and scientific publications. Hildegard von Bingen is venerated in the Roman Catholic Church as a saint and church teacher. In addition, Hildegard von Bingen is commemorated with memorial days in the Anglican, Old Catholic and also Protestant churches. The Rüdesheim Hildegard Trail is one of the most beautiful hiking trails around Rüdesheim and invites you to walk in the footsteps of Saint Hildegard.

The relics have been in the parish church of Eibingen, a district of Rüdesheim am Rhein, since 1641. Visitors are welcome daily from 10 am to 5 pm and can visit the abbey church, the monastery shop and the monastery café.

Recommendations and popular pages

Niederwald Monument

Above Rüdesheim, the Germania is enthroned on the imposing Niederwalddenkmal, a monument to the German Empire commemorating the unification of Germany in 1871.

Niederwald Monument
Wine experience

Feel the lively wine culture in the Rheingau. A visit to the Drosselgasse or a wine tasting at the vintner's is a must on any visit to Rüdesheim.

Wine experience
Rhine navigation

Experience an unforgettable boat trip to the enchanting Loreley, a boat trip along the castles and palaces or a nostalgic steamboat trip on the Rhine.

Rhine navigation
To the booking
Best price booking Save up to 5 euros per night when booking directly.

Hildegard von Bingen

Hildegard von Bingen gilt als eine der bedeutendsten Frauen des Mittelalters und die erste Vertreterin der deutschen Mystik. Die Arbeiten der Hildegard von Bingen umfassen ein breit gefächertes thematisches Repertoire von Religion und Medizin über Musik und Ethik bis hin zu Kosmologie.

Hildegard von Bingen war Benediktinerin, Äbtissin, Dichterin, Komponistin und darüber hinaus zudem eine bedeutende Universalgelehrte. Außerdem war sie vielleicht eine der ersten Coaches, denn sehr gut erhaltene Schriftstücke und Briefwechsel belegen, dass sie viele Persönlichkeiten ihrer Zeit beraten hat. Bemerkenswert ist dabei unter anderem der Umstand, dass Hildegard von Bingen mitunter sehr klare und mahnende Worte gegenüber hochgestellten Zeitgenossen fand. Auch der Seelsorge und einer öffentlichen Predigertätigkeit widmete Sie sich.

Das umfangreiche Schaffen der gebürtigen Hunsrückerin findet bis heute weltweite Anerkennung und ist die Grundlage unzähliger Artikel, Studien und wissenschaftlicher Veröffentlichungen. Hildegard von Bingen wird in der römisch-katholischen Kirche als Heilige und Kirchenlehrerin verehrt. Darüber hinaus wird mit Gedenktagen in der anglikanischen, der alt-katholischen und auch der evangelischen Kirche an Hildegard von Bingen erinnert. Der Rüdesheimer Hilgegard-Weg ist einer der schönsten Wanderwege rund um Rüdesheim und lädt zum Wandern auf den Spuren der heiligen Hildegard ein.

Die Reliquien befinden sich seit 1641 in der Pfarrkirche von Eibingen, einem Stadtteil von Rüdesheim am Rhein. Besucher sind täglich von 10 bis 17 Uhr willkommen und können die Abteikirche, den Klosterladen und das Klostercafé besuchen.

Empfehlungen und beliebte Seiten

Weinerlebnis

Spüren Sie die lebendige Weinkultur im Rheingau. Ein Besuch der Drosselgasse oder eine Weinprobe beim Winzer dürfen bei keinem Besuch in Rüdesheim fehlen.

Weinerlebnis
Niederwalddenkmal

Oberhalb von Rüdesheim thront die Germania auf dem imposnaten Niederwalddenkmal, das als Denkmal des Deutschen Kaiserreichs an die Einigung Deutschlands 1871 erinnert.

Niederwalddenkmal
Rhein-Schifffahrt

Erleben Sie eine unvergessliche Schifffahrt zur zauberhaften Loreley, eine Bootsfahrt entlang der Burgen und Schlösser oder eine nostalgische Dampferfahrt auf dem Rhein.

Rhein-Schifffahrt
Zur Buchung Gutscheine