Cycling in the Rheingau

Discover Rüdesheim, Rheingau and UNESCO World Heritage Upper Middle Rhine Valley by bike

Whether city bike, dirt bike, folding bike, e-bike, mountain bike, pedelec, racing bike, touring bike, trekking bike or velo-bike - Rüdesheim is the ideal starting point for bike tours through the Rheingau and Upper Middle Rhine Valley.

In the direction of Wiesbaden, you drive along the Rhine through the old cultural landscape of the Rheingau. Divided by gently rolling vineyards, picturesque villages such as Eltville and Oestrich-Winkel are lined up for about 25 kilometres. As there are only 1-2% gradients on this cycle route, the cycle path along the Rhine is particularly recommended for families and extended cycle tours. You can get back to Rüdesheim comfortably by train. This makes cycling in the Rheingau especially fun.

But also in the direction of Koblenz, right through the UNESCO World Heritage Upper Middle Rhine Valley, there are attractive and particularly scenic cycle paths. Feel the fascination of the Rhine's romanticism and discover your wine experience before returning by train. The 65-kilometre Middle Rhine Cycle Path on the left bank of the Rhine is fully developed. Take the ferry from Rüdesheim to Bingen and start your tour of discovery along numerous palaces, castles and, of course, the legendary Loreley.

Tour 1: Experience the state capitals

Full-day excursion: 75 kilometres, 7 hours pure driving time

Starting in Rüdesheim, the cycle route takes you along the Rhine through the beautiful Rheingau region. The unique wine and cultural landscape impresses with numerous aristocratic residences and monasteries as well as renowned wineries along the cycle route. The towns along the route invite you to make stops along the way. In particular, the old town of Eltville with the electoral castle (17 kilometres, 1.5 hours' ride) is worth seeing.
From Eltville it is about an hour's drive to the city limits of Wiesbaden. The 2000-year-old city of Mainz is directly opposite on the other side of the Rhine. The Schiersteiner Brücke (bridge) provides the fastest connection between the two cities in a 60-minute drive (10 kilometres). The old town of Mainz with St. Stephan's Cathedral and the Gutenberg Museum offers many sights and experiences.
You then cycle along the Rhine via Ingelheim and the Rheinauen nature reserve to Bingen. From there you can reach Rüdesheim comfortably by car ferry or passenger boat.

Tour 2: Discover World Heritage

Half-day excursion: 23 kilometres, 2 hours pure driving time or full-day excursion: 45 kilometres, 4.5 hours pure driving time

At Steiger 8, we recommend crossing from Rüdesheim to Bingen by passenger ferry. This will take you to the Linkrhein cycle path in Bingen, which leads you directly into the UNESCO World Heritage Upper Middle Rhine Valley. The countless castles, palaces, wine villages and, of course, the Loreley will enchant you. The cycle path runs along the banks of the Rhine and is therefore flat throughout. Structurally, the Rhine cycle path on the left bank of the Rhine is separated from the main road. Even if you don't make it to Bacharach (16 kilometres, 1.5 hours), Oberwesel (23 kilometres, 2 hours) or past the Loreley to Boppard (21 kilometres, 2 hours), you can always return to Rüdesheim comfortably and relaxed by boat or train.

Tour 3: Cycling in the Rheingau

Half-day excursion: 40 kilometres, 4 hours pure riding time, recommended tour for e-bikes

The round tour through the Rheingau takes you to the most beautiful corners of the region. Start in Rüdesheim on the R3 cycle path. Pass Monrepos Castle of Geisenheim University and through the vineyards towards Johannisberg Castle. After a few small climbs on the cycle path, you will then reach Eberbach Monastery. Via the village of Kiedrich, you will finally reach the Rhine near Eltville. You then cycle along the Rhine for 17 kilometres and in about 1.5 hours back to Rüdesheim am Rhein.

Tour 4: To the Nahe

30 kilometres, 3 hours pure driving time

Opposite Rüdesheim, the Nahe flows into the Rhine. This is the starting point for the cycle tour along the Nahe. To cross the Rhine, we recommend the passenger ferry from Steiger 8. The flat course of the Nahe cycle path takes you along the river to Bad Münster am Stein-Ebernburg. The route is varied and you will pass, for example, the medieval Drusus Bridge in Bingen, Bad Kreuznach with its bridge houses worth seeing and the Rotenfels, Germany's largest steep face outside the Alps. For the way back to Bingen, the 30-minute train ride is recommended.

Recommendations and popular pages

Niederwald Monument

Above Rüdesheim, the Germania is enthroned on the imposing Niederwalddenkmal, a monument to the German Empire commemorating the unification of Germany in 1871.

Niederwald Monument
Wine experience

Feel the lively wine culture in the Rheingau. A visit to the Drosselgasse or a wine tasting at the vintner's is a must on any visit to Rüdesheim.

Wine experience
Rhine Romanticism

Whether it's a boat trip to the legendary Loreley, a boat trip along the castles and palaces or a nostalgic steamboat trip on the Rhine - with the Rhine boat trip you will experience the region from its most beautiful side.

Rhine navigation
To the booking
Best price booking Save up to 5 euros per night when booking directly.

Radfahren im Rheingau

Rüdesheim, Rheingau und UNESCO-Welterbe Oberes Mittelrheintal mit dem Fahrrad entdecken

Ob Citybike, Dirtbike, Klapprad, E-Bike, Mountainbike, Pedelec, Rennrad, Tourenrad, Trekkingrad oder Velo-Bike – Rüdesheim ist der ideale Ausgangspunkt für Radtouren durch Rheingau und Oberes Mittelrheintal.

In Richtung Wiesbaden fahren Sie entlang des Rheins mitten durch die alte Kulturlandschaft des Rheingaus. Gegliedert durch sanft geschwungene Weinberge reihen sich auf etwa 25 Kilometern malerische Ortschaften wie Eltville und Oestrich-Winkel aneinander. Da nur 1-2% Gefälle auf dieser Radstrecke zu erwarten sind, ist der Fahrradweg entlang des Rheins besonders für Familien und ausgedehnte Radtouren zu empfehlen. Zurück nach Rüdesheim gelangen Sie bequem mit der Bahn. So macht Radfahren im Rheingau besonders viel Spaß.

Doch auch in Richtung Koblenz, mitten durch das UNESCO-Welterbe Oberes Mittelrheintal führen attraktive und landschaftlich ganz besonders reizvolle Fahrradwege. Spüren Sie die Faszination der Rheinromantik und entdecken Sie vor der Rückfahrt per Bahn Ihr Weinerlebnis. Der linksrheinische Mittelrhein-Radweg ist auf 65 Kilometern durchgängig ausgebaut. Setzen Sie mit der Fähre Rüdesheim-Bingen über und schon beginnt Ihre Erkundungstour entlang zahlreicher Schlösser, Burgen und natürlich der sagenhaften Loreley.

Tour 1: Die Landeshauptstädte erleben

Ganztagesausflug: 75 Kilometer, 7 Stunden reine Fahrzeit

Der Radweg führt Sie ausgehend von Rüdesheim entlang des Rheins durch den schöne Rheingau. Die einzigartige Wein- und Kulturlandschaft besticht durch zahlreiche Adelsresidenzen und Klöster sowie renommierte Weingüter entlang der Fahrradstrecke. Die Ortschaften entlang der Strecke laden zu Zwischenstopps ein. Insbesondere die Altstadt von Eltville mit der kurfürstlichen Burg (17 Kilometer, 1,5 Stunden Fahrzeit) ist sehenswert.
Von Eltville aus ist es etwa eine knappe Stunde Fahrzeit bis zur Stadtgrenze Wiesbaden. Die 2000 Jahre alte Stadt Mainz liegt direkt gegenüber auf der anderen Rheinseite. Die Schiersteiner Brücke ermöglicht die schnellste Verbindung beider Städte in 60 Minuten Fahrtzeit (10 Kilometer). Die Mainzer Altstadt mit dem Dom St. Stephan und dem Gutenbergmuseum bietet viele Sehenswürdigkeiten und Erlebnisse.
Über den Rheinradweg geht es anschließend entlang des Rheins über Ingelheim und das Naturschutzgebiet Rheinauen nach Bingen. Von dort erreichen Sie Rüdesheim bequem per Autofähre oder Personenschiff.

Tour 2: Welterbe entdecken

Halbtagesausflug: 23 Kilometer, 2 Stunden reine Fahrzeit oder Ganztagesausflug: 45 Kilometer, 4,5 Stunden reine Fahrzeit

Am Steiger 8 ist das Übersetzen von Rüdesheim nach Bingen mit der Personenfähre zu empfehlen. So gelangen Sie in Bingen auf den linkrheinischen Radweg, der Sie direkt in das UNESCO-Welterbe Oberes Mittelrheintal führt. Die unzähligen Burgen, Schlösser, Weinorte und natürlich die Loreley werden Sie verzaubern. Der Radweg führt entlang des Rheinufers und ist daher durchgehend flach. Baulich ist der linksrheinische Rheinradweg von der Bundesstraße getrennt. Auch wenn Sie es nicht bis nach Bacharach (16 Kilometer, 1,5 Stunden), Oberwesel (23 Kilometer, 2 Stunden) oder vorbei an der Loreley bis nach Boppard (21 Kilometer, 2 Stunden) schaffen sollten, so können Sie jederzeit per Schiff oder Bahn bequem und ganze entspannt die Rückreise nach Rüdesheim antreten.

Tour 3: Radfahren im Rheingau

Halbtagesausflug: 40 Kilometer, 4 Stunden reine Fahrzeit, empfohlene Tour für E-Bikes

Die Rundtour durch das Rheingau führt Sie in die schönsten Winkel der Region. Los geht es ab Rüdesheim auf dem Radweg R3. Vorbei am Schloss Monrepos der Hochschule Geisenheim und durch die Weinberge in Richtung Schloss Johannisberg. Nach einigen kleinen Anstiegen des Radwegs erreichen Sie anschließend das Kloster Eberbach. Über den Ort Kiedrich erreichen Sie dann bergab schließlich den Rhein bei Eltville. Entlang des Rheins geht es anschließend für 17 Kilometer und in etwa 1,5 Stunden Fahrzeit zurück nach Rüdesheim am Rhein.

Tour 4: An die Nahe

30 Kilometer, 3 Stunden reine Fahrtzeit

Gegenüber von Rüdesheim mündet die Nahe in den Rhein. Dies ist der Ausgangspunkt die Radtour entlang der Nahe. Zur Überquerung des Rheins empfiehlt sich die Personenfähre ab Steiger 8. Der flache Streckenverlauf des Naheradwegs führt Sie entlang des Flusses bis nach Bad Münster am Stein-Ebernburg. Die Strecke ist abwechslungsreich und so kommen Sie beispielsweise an der mittelalterlichen Drususbrücke in Bingen, Bad Kreuznach mit den sehenswerten Brückenhäusern und dem Rotenfels, Deutschlands größter Steilwand außerhalb der Alpen, vorbei. Für den Rückweg nach Bingen empfiehlt sich die 30-minütige Zugfahrt.

Empfehlungen und beliebte Seiten

Weinerlebnis

Spüren Sie die lebendige Weinkultur im Rheingau. Ein Besuch der Drosselgasse oder eine Weinprobe beim Winzer dürfen bei keinem Besuch in Rüdesheim fehlen.

Weinerlebnis
Niederwalddenkmal

Oberhalb von Rüdesheim thront die Germania auf dem imposnaten Niederwalddenkmal, das als Denkmal des Deutschen Kaiserreichs an die Einigung Deutschlands 1871 erinnert.

Niederwalddenkmal
Rheinromantik

Ob Schifffahrt zur sagenumwobenen Loreley, Bootsfahrt entlang der Burgen und Schlösser oder nostalgische Dampferfahrt auf dem Rhein - mit der Rhein-Schifffahrt erleben Sie die Region von der schönsten Seite.

Rhein-Schifffahrt
Zur Buchung Gutscheine